Skip to content

Mom and Dad’s visit Part 2: July 13-15, 2012

July 18, 2012

For our second and final weekend with Mom and Dad, we rented a car so to help facilitate some bigger day trips.

On the Friday night, we had a relaxing evening and finally made it to a country pub halfway between Basingstoke and Newbury called The Star Inn (John and I have been eyeing up for a few months).  Mom and Dad finally got to try “sticky toffee pudding” which they loved!  I can also recommend their banoffee cheesecake!

The next morning we set off early for Stratford-Upon-Avon to see “The Tempest.”

The River Avon:

We all enjoyed the experience of seeing a Shakespeare play in his hometown itself, but I don’t think it was a favourite play for any of us.

We enjoyed exploring the town before and after the play, seeing Shakespeare’s birthplace and also Anne Hathaway’s cottage:

(Which now makes me question if the current actress Anne Hathaway uses a stage name?)

The town had some quirky shops as well:

We decided to stop in Oxford for dinner on the way home.  A coworker from Oxford kindly recommended some restaurants, and we had a lovely thai meal.  Oxford University was beautiful– although it would have been enjoyed more had we not arrived in the middle of a torrential downpour!!

The next day, with a better weather forecast, we headed south for Brighton, a seaside town about a 2 hour drive away.  After a fish-and-chip lunch, we headed to the famous Brighton pier.

It was bigger than I expected, housing 2 arcades, many amusement park rides and food stands.

 

Only pure class on the pier:

 

Enjoying the free deck chairs:

 

While the weather was “better” than the day before’s, it was still cold and windy and a bit miserable.  I think I understand now why a beautiful beach needs an amusement park pier.

 

No swimming for us.

Amanda

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Michelle permalink

    I like your sweet stripped dress!

  2. Sounds like a fun weekend! I love how you an Mom are posing on the chairs and John is staring you both down like what are you doing in public you crazies! Lol. Too bad you didn’t get more sun for all your outdoor exploring, or some of our heat for the beach day! 🙂

  3. babeales permalink

    It was a very full and interesting weekend. So glad we got to experience places that were new to all! And, despite the bad press the Brits endure about their horrible cuisine, I enjoyed every bite out of every meal. I guess my British roots make me predisposed to thei diet. 😜

  4. Uncle Caveman permalink

    What is Bernie DOING in that last photo? Looks to me like he’s channelling Harold Hill from his high-school drama days!

Leave a comment